Saturday, December 4, 2021
HomeSportsIPL 2021: MI put in higher batting effort towards KKR

IPL 2021: MI put in higher batting effort towards KKR

Defending champions Mumbai Indians will look to attract inspiration from skipper Rohit Sharma, who is about to return to motion towards Kolkata Knight Riders in an Indian Premier League match right here on Thursday.

Mumbai have been with out the providers of Rohit and star all-rounder Hardik Pandya of their 20-run loss to Chennai Super Kings on Sunday as each have been rested as a precaution because of niggles. However, head coach Mahela Jayawardene has stated that Rohit needs to be match and accessible for choice for the match towards KKR.

KKR, then again, registered a formidable nine-wicket win over Royal Challengers Bangalore of their opening sport of the second leg of the league.

Mumbai, who’re at the moment fourth on the desk with eight factors, began their second leg marketing campaign on a sluggish notice however with solely half the match left to play, defeating the defending champions to complete on the prime of the league desk. Need to win.

Rohit, who has been doing nicely as of late, will probably be anticipated to proceed in the identical vein and assist them enhance their inept batting efficiency towards CSK. Apart from Saurabh Tiwary, who hit an unbeaten half-century, not one of the different batsmen have been in a position to capitalize on their begins, failing to chase down 156 towards CSK.

On the opposite hand, a complete win would have boosted KKR’s confidence. After struggling within the first leg, KKR regarded a totally completely different unit, the way in which they beat RCB.

The Eoin Morgan-led facet, ranked sixth within the factors desk, fired on all cylinders with thriller spinner Varun Chakraborty and star all-rounder Andre Russell, opener Shubman Gill and debutant Venkatesh Iyer hitting the ball earlier than chasing down a goal of 93. wreaked havoc. With 10 overs remaining.

Captain Morgan had stated that KKR could be a harmful opponent and with nothing to lose within the second leg and the crew definitely regarded harmful towards RCB. They will proceed to play in an analogous aggressive vogue and go on to win the identical title as within the 2014 version once they registered 9 consecutive victories.

They may also keep an edge over their rivals who’ve already skilled the situations on the Sheikh Zayed Stadium towards RCB.


Kolkata Knight Riders: Eoin Morgan (Captain), Dinesh Karthik, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Karun Nair, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Shubman Gill, Harbhajan Singh, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Pawan Negi, M Pranand Krishna, Sandeep Warrier, Shivam Dubey. Tim Southee, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakravarthy, Andre Russell, Ben Cutting, Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Sheldon Jackson, Tim Seifert.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain) Quinton de Kock, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Aditya Tare, Anmolpreet Singh, Chris Lynn, Saurabh Tiwary, Anukul Roy, Arjun Tendulkar, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, James Neesham, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Marco Jansen , Yudhvir Singh, Adam Milne, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohsin Khan, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Piyush Chawla, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult.

With inputs from TheIndianEXPRESS


Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -

Recent Comments