Thursday, August 5, 2021
HomeSportManchester City's Reuben Dias chosen as FWA Men's Footballer of the Year

Manchester City’s Reuben Dias chosen as FWA Men’s Footballer of the Year

Manchester City’s Reuben Dias was voted England’s finest footballer of the yr on Thursday within the Football Writers Association (FWA) annual vote, making him the primary defender to win the award after Steve Nicol in 1989.

The 24-year-old Portugal center-back defeated Tottenham’s Harry Kane and City teammate Kevin de Bruyne within the voting, with 9 Premier League gamers receiving greater than 50% of the entire votes.

Two days after the membership suffered a 5–2 dwelling defeat to Leicester City, Dias signed for Benfica to City in September for a price of 68 million euros.

The imposing defender has reworked City’s back-line, forming a commanding partnership with John Stones, which has helped the membership to a 3rd league title in 4 seasons beneath supervisor Pep Guardiola, arguably the most effective defensive document within the league Thank you for

“It means one thing particular as a result of normally, those that end performs (rating objectives) come into the headlines, however I feel getting this award is a major instance of our workforce and the way in which we work – The manner we make our recreation. It displays all of the solidarity we’ve got on the pitch, the spirit within the workforce and the way we carry out.

“Getting this award for me, along with these players, shows how we play as a family.”

Dias is simply the third participant to win the dignity in his first season on the membership, after Tottenham Hotspur (1994–95), the German Juergen Klinsmann and Chelsea’s Italian Gianfranco Zola (1996–97).

Chelsea and England ahead Fran Kirby received the FWA Women’s Footballer of the Year award final week.

With inputs from TheIndianEXPRESS

- Advertisment -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -

Recent Comments

- Advertisment -