Thursday, November 26, 2020
Home Sport Motorsport Whincup did not count on group orders

Whincup did not count on group orders

The T8 Holdens completed the third and last warmth first and second, following a coordinated, and controversial, assault on Whincup’s title rival Scott McLaughlin.

That got here after Whincup let Shane van Gisbergen by 4 laps from residence so he might exploit his superior tyre life, the Kiwi then returning the favour by operating McLaughlin large so Whincup might sweep into second.

That opened the door for T8 to swap its two drivers earlier than the end, which might have handed Whincup a further eight factors over McLaughlin.

However the manufacturing facility Holden squad opted to depart van Gisbergen out in entrance, race engineer Grant McPherson telling his driver to “take it to the chequer in this position” on the ultimate lap.

Asked if he felt van Gisbergen ought to have forfeited the win, Whincup stated: “No, I don’t think so.

“[The #97 crew] did a great job with the strategy, it played into their hands. They had four tyres left, so SVG deserved the win and he got it.”

Read Also:

He additionally defended his resolution to let van Gisbergen previous within the first place.

“I wasn’t going to hold Shane up. We don’t hold each other up,” he said.

“He had some serious pace. When that Safety Car came out he was on for the win so I didn’t want to get in the way of that.”

Whincup presently sits 143 factors behind McLaughlin within the standings, with 900 factors nonetheless up for grabs from the remaining three occasions.

Triple Eight, in the meantime, holds a slender 42-point benefit within the groups’ championship, which determines the pitlane order for the next season.

The first of van Gisbergen’s two victories in Townsville helped T8 turn into the primary group to win 200 points-paying races within the top-tier of Australian touring automotive racing.

The Walkinshaw Racing-run Holden Racing Team outfit racked up 200 wins again in 2011, nevertheless that included non-championship rounds comparable to Albert Park and pre-1999 Bathurst 1000s.

Now operating beneath the Walkinshaw Andretti United banner, the Clayton-based group has 180 points-paying wins to its title.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Robust Covid Vaccine Manufacturing, Delivery Ecosystem Initiated To Meet Demand: Centre

<!-- -->India has the biggest capability to supply COVID-19 vaccines, Harsh Vardhan mentioned (File)New Delhi: The authorities has initiated a sturdy COVID-19 vaccine manufacturing...

What we discovered from Sunak’s speech in two minutes

Chancellor Rishi Sunak has set out his plans for presidency spending because the UK offers with the "economic emergency" brought on by Covid-19.In two...

Jharkhand Government Orders Probe Into Lalu Yadav’s “Poaching” Audio Clip

<!-- -->Lalu Prasad Yadav is serving a four-year jail time period in Jharkhand for corruption. (File)Ranchi: The Jharkhand authorities on Wednesday ordered a probe...

A have a look at Diego Maradona’s timeline: From World Cup win to drug scandal

New Delhi: Here is a timeline of soccer legend Diego Armando Maradona of Argentina. A World Cup winner, he handed away on Wednesday, aged...

Recent Comments