Mumbai Ranji Trophy group introduced, Ajinkya Rahane will captain


The senior choice committee of the Mumbai Cricket Association on Sunday introduced the gamers who might be within the Ranji Trophy group. The group might be captained by Ajinkya Rahane and can embrace stars like Prithvi Shaw, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Sarfaraz Khan.

Mumbai, drawn in Elite B Group, will start their Ranji marketing campaign in opposition to Andhra Pradesh on December 13 at BKC. Last 12 months, Mumbai reached the ultimate of the match earlier than shedding to Madhya Pradesh.

Last month, Mumbai acquired their fingers on the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy, the elusive silverware lacking from their huge cupboard, beating Himachal Pradesh by three wickets within the remaining.

Mumbai’s bowlers had been proper on the cash between spinner Tanush Kotain (3/15) and medium pacer Mohit Awasthi (3/21), limiting Himachal Pradesh to 143 for eight. Chasing a modest goal, Sarfaraz Khan as soon as once more confirmed he had his share of hiccups earlier than scoring an unbeaten 36 off 31 balls to assist his group cross the road with three balls to spare.

Rahane, who was dropped for the New Zealand and Bangladesh excursions, might be seeking to show some extent as he makes an attempt to make his method again into the worldwide group. He mentioned, ‘He has to attain extra runs to get again within the group…he is aware of that. He is continually in contact with the choice committee. The center order is so packed that even Hanuma Vihari has discovered a spot within the group,” former chairman of selectors Chetan Sharma had mentioned.

This 12 months’s Ranji Trophy season will begin from 13 December until 20 February.

Mumbai squad: Ajinkya Rahane (C), Prithvi Shaw, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sarfaraz Khan, Suved Parkar, Prasad Pawar, Shams Mulani, Tanush Kotian, Hardik Tamore (wk), Siddharth Raut, Royston Dias, Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Awasthi, Shashank Attarde , Armaan Jaffer, Musheer Khan, Suryansh Shedge

With inputs from TheIndianEXPRESS

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here